Baked Figs with Blue Cheese, Honey and Almonds

October 22, 2008

fresh figs

Figs are in season in North London, or at least in the Turkish grocery just down from the Happening Bagel Bakery. I took my time choosing these, making sure I had the very best little buds of purple velvet, so ripe they could have blown in that moment from a tree in the Med. 

You can eat them just as they come. Or pan-fry them with a little butter and honey. Or roast them, as I did, with cheese.

Roasted figs with Blue Cheese, Honey and Almonds
for 2
4 ripe figs
50g Danish Blue cheese (ok, use ricotta if the idea of blue cheese alarms you)
15g flaked almonds
honey
Greek yoghurt

Set the oven to 220C/425F/Gas 7.

Spread a square of tin foil onto a baking sheet. Remove the stalks from the figs, cut a deep cross down from the stalk end into each one, and place them on the tin foil.

Press crumbled cheese into the crosses, top this with a large pinch of flaked almonds, and then end up with a drizzle of honey (about a teaspoonful for each fig). 

Bake the figs for about 5 minutes, until the almonds are golden brown and the cheese is oozing out. Serve with Greek yoghurt, spooning over any escaped honey/juices from the foil.  

3 Responses to “Baked Figs with Blue Cheese, Honey and Almonds”

  1. alexis Says:

    wow, is it possible that you have shared a recipe that includes all of my favorite ingredients? yes, it is. this sounds amazing.
    I often cut figs in half, top them with ricotta cheese and crushed pistachio nuts, and then drizzle them with honey. another fig recipe I can’t live without: wrap figs in bacon and broil them for 10min.
    speaking of figs, I wonder if they make tea with dried figs. that would be fabulous!

  2. Stephen Says:

    Ricotta and pistachios sounds really good. I’m going to try out some new ideas, maybe figs nuts and cheese baked in pastry.
    Dried figs are good in tea breads. Never had them as a tea per se, but let me know if you find such a thing!


  3. […] Figs!” I figured I was only weeks away from breaking out the blue cheese and honey for my favorite fig dish. Weeks turned into months, and guess how many figs I picked? Yep. Zero. Not a single fig ripened […]


Leave a Reply

