Asparagus Spears with Halloumi and Caramelised Walnuts

October 13, 2008

fast healthy lunch

Asparagus is still in the shops and though I couldn’t call this an Indian summer, it hasn’t rained today, not yet at least.

So I rustled this up for an al fresco lunch and sat out there in my thickest sweater, pretending it wasn’t 70-odd shopping days to Christmas.

Asparagus Spears with Halloumi and Caramelised Walnuts (for 2 with bread)
50g walnut halves
25g butter
1 dsp honey
100g broccoli florets
about 10 asparagus spears
200g halloumi

Saute the walnuts in the butter for just a couple of minutes, then drizzle in the honey and give them another minute or so – any more and they will begin to burn. Extract the walnuts from the pan and leave them to cool. 

On a hot griddle sear the halloumi for a few minutes on each side. I like my halloumi virtually charcoaled on the outside and succulent within, so I don’t grease the griddle, though you can for a more golden effect. 

Steam the broccoli and asparagus for about 5 minutes, no more. Leave to cool. 
I dressed all the ingredients with 3 parts olive oil to 1 of balsamic vinegar, plus a quarter of a teaspoon grainy mustard and the same of honey. 

 

4 Responses to “Asparagus Spears with Halloumi and Caramelised Walnuts”

  1. Popper Says:

    I made this yesterday…amazing! Although, I did eat it indoors! Thanks.

  2. Stephen Says:

    Glad you liked it. Sorry I can’t do anything about the weather!

  3. tom and joe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Says:

    please deven put us on your blogggggggggggg. Can you change the white bits in the background turn thyem blue + put your lasagna recipy on your blogggggggggggggggg seeeeeeee
    eeeeee you soon tom and joe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    C 0 0 L B L O G 🙂 $(*@*)$ THIS IS A PIG :]

  4. Piedro Says:

    I discovered halloumi a few years ago as I moved to Cyprus, never heard of it before. But straight away I fell in love with that delicious cheese that is so versatile and gives its special note to so many dishes. Very often we try new halloumi recipes and there is not one week since then, that we won’t have at least one meal with halloumi, not to speak about BBQs, where having halloumi is a must.
    Thank you for sharing this yummy recipe and giving me some new ideas.


Leave a Reply

