The Honey Sandwich

March 18, 2009

Now that Marks and Spencer have unveiled their own jam sandwich, competitively priced at 75p, I feel certain that the time is ripe for an occasional series on my own favourite sandwiches.

The homemade sandwich is a very personal affair. Since most of us only admit to eating them when we have to  – ie for lunch at work – owning up to actually liking them feels like a truly personal revelation. Particularly on a food blog, you know? It sounds kind of slummy. Like telling you that I don’t wear underwear.

But there it is. I do (like sandwiches that is).

And this is my latest favourite.

sandwich-007

That’s butter (or Utterly Butterly to be perfectly exact) on granary bread. Plus a thick layer of set honey on one of the slices, and a thin layer of light Tahini on the other.

Tahini is made from sesame seeds and it adds a little chewiness, along with some protein and a rather larger number of calories.

It works, really it does. Try it. And then let me know your  own favourite sandwiches.

7 Responses to “The Honey Sandwich”

  1. Olivia Says:

    I don’t know what Utterly Butterly is… but honey (is “set honey” something special that I don’t know about too?) and tahini sounds great. I love tahini. I’ll have to try this. Here’s my secret sandwich delight:
    My family makes a sandwich with banana, peanut butter and just a dab of mayo (really, just a dab… unless you find that you like more..). Really quick to make and delicious!

  2. Stephen Says:

    Your sandwich sounds great…I’ve had something similar but never with mayo. Will try it! Btw Utterly Butterly is just an English spreadable butter substitute and ‘set’ honey is thick firm honey rather than the thin runny kind.


  3. What the hell is slummy about homemade sandwiches? Nothing at all. What silly nonsense.

    My favourite is (I have to confess) the ham and mustard/mayonnaise on white bread, available from Sainsburys. Next in line if the Prawn Mayonnaise and hard boiled egg in a soft bap.

    The best homemade effort is quite simple. Cream cheese (it has to be full fat – none of this lowfat malarky) with a massive dollop of homemade red pepper pickle.

    Or, failing that, homemade chicken live pate (ok, so its not going to satisfy the vegetarians) with a dollop of red pepper pickle on it too.

    Thoroughly Goodness, all of it homemade to boot.

  4. Robor Says:

    Greetings,
    Amazing! Not clear for me, how often you’re updating your eatthinkandbemerry.wordpress.com.

    Thank you
    Robor

  5. Stephen Says:

    Hi Robor
    I was updating twice a week, but been so busy lately, it’s sunk down to about once a week or less. I’m moving house – again! – and after that hopefully my posting will be back up to scratch. Thanks for your interest.

    Mr TG – strong words! Well ok, I was being coy…More to the point, you drop by, mention a delicious-sounding homemade red pepper pickle, and don’t tell me how to make it! Come on now..

  6. Charley Says:

    I like spending time making a sandwich! A few personal faves are:

    Cheese, Bacon and Fried egg Toastie
    Honey, butter and Banana Toastie/sandwich
    Lettuce, Ham and Worchester sauce crisps in fresh white rolls

    And if im just being lazy a simple honey sandwich never fails to deliver :)


  7. I have to try this for sure!!!! If you’d like to try a variation with almond butter – I came up with a perfect recipe http://cuceesprouts.com/2010/09/almond-butter-pear-honey-pocket/


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

